Home

A little bit of background about me: I live in America because my Greek great- grandfather had the courage to jump ship (literally) on an arranged marriage. He left out of Istanbul, Turkey and made his way to Ellis Island to try his hand at the American Dream. Though I’m only 1/8th Greek, I’ve always been deeply interested in the culture, food, traditions, and language of my distant cousins. I’ve been on a quest my entire life to make it back to the motherland.

Well, this is the year I am going to Greece.

Greece-Athens

Probably not the most ideal time, considering its financial troubles and the possibility of Greece making a Grexit from the Eurozone, but if not now, then when? There will be other excuses next year, so now is the time. Convincing my parents of this has proven to be difficult, but I feel like this is something I need to do, and I want to do it alone. I know how cliché it sounds to say that this trip will be “an adventure of self-discovery, ” but I honestly believe that travel can transform and enlighten, and I’m ready to get out of my comfort zone and challenge myself. This is my year of change, after all.

I’ve already started making travel plans and set tentative dates for my journey. I got a travel credit card so I can pay for my flights using points and read a book on travel hacking. I even listen to Greek podcasts on my way to work every morning to teach myself to speak the language. So if you ever see me talking to myself in my car… well, there’s a good possibility I’m actually just singing. #noshame To say that I’m excited is an understatement. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to do anything as much as I want to go to Greece.

beautiful-greece-corner-mac-wallpaper


Bonus:

I’m obsessed with Greek fashion. Traditional Greek influences and the classic silhouettes are so elegant. One of my favorites is Zeus + Dione. Check them out if you feel so inclined.

Also, if you’re looking for a way to satisfy your wanderlust, but can’t seem to get away from your desk. Take a look at Shop Latitude. You can shop curated collections by destination– my favorite is obviously Greece– but their selection of goods from around the globe is remarkable.

img_7961_72-zoom

Zeus + Dione Isidora Dress

Opa!  (That’s Greek for Bahhhhh.)

2 thoughts on “greek to me

Leave a Reply

