Home

Since the first day of February is TOMORROW, (I can’t believe 2015 is already going by so quickly!) I thought I’d share a few things going on in the area if find yourself searching for fun. My friends at Thrillist (one of my favorite sources of information especially on Fat Kid Fridays) and D Magazine helped me out with a few of these.

Update: Here’s a list of 25 Dallas Happenings from D Magazine. Most of them are not included on my list, so take a look.

book of mormon

Book of Mormon-The Margot and Bill Winspear Opera House- February 10-14


Today (technically still January)- A collection of Melvin Edwards’ welded steel sculptures and other pieces go on display at the Nasher.

Tonight (also technically still January, my apologies.)- Jonathan Fox Band at The Rustic! He’s a good friend of my best friend, so obviously he’s cool and you should be a fan. …and the food at The Rustic is SO on point.

January 29- Feb 7Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo– barbecue, animals, barbecue, cowboys- like real cowboys not the fake ones, music, bull-riding, and did I mention barbecue?

February 1– Super Bowl Parties at Henderson Tap House or The Granada. I plan to watch it in the comfort of my own home so I can critique the commercials and unabashedly sing along with Katy Perry during halftime.

February 6- Chris Brown with Trey Songz featuring Tyga- …because Chris Brown is such a quality person. Right?

February 7Hot Chocolate 15k/5k- Run. Drink Hot Chocolate. Simple as that. Then hop on a plane to Vegas with me! (I’m going to be in the same room as Britney Spears and I’M DYING. DY-ING.)

February 10-22- The Book of Mormon– Go see this Tony award-winning show. I haven’t seen it, but I’ve heard good things.

February 12- Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band: Ride Out Tour- Reasons why you wouldn’t want to go to this? There are none.

February 14- Dallas Blues Festival Perfect for a holiday filled with pink. Ew. Mel Waiters, Clarence Carter, Latimore, and others will all be at the Verizon Theatre waiting for you on Valentine’s Day. Don’t stand them up.

February 14-19- International Exhibition of Shelock Holmes at the Perot. This is a perfect excuse for me to finally go to the Perot.

February 16- Maroon 5 at the American Airlines Center- Adam Levine. Duh.

February 16- FT33 Guest Chef Series– They will be bringing in Evan and Sarah Rich of Rich Table in San Francisco.

February 19- Painting Techniques of the Impressionists– Dr. Anthea Callen examines the meaning behind impressionist painters’ methods.

February 20Late Nights at the DMA– The third Friday of each month the museum is open until midnight, and this month they are exploring their collection through times of war and peace, with live music, discussions, and exhibits.

February 27-28The Avett Brothers at Southside Ballroom– They are playing twice. So no excuses.


OR if you want to just skip the month of February and maybe part of March you can sign up to do Test Subject Screening at NASA. I know sometimes I’d like to live like a lab rat and get paid for it.

bedrest

Let’s take the month off and play Guitar Hero. Okay?

Bahhhhh.

Leave a Reply

